Do Trans Women get Periods?

Do Trans Women get periods? Absolutely.

As someone who is on my period now, I can tell you that it is very real and it sucks. I am ready to burst into tears at a moments notice and I could definitely bite someone’s head off right now. I’ve been tracking my mood cycle lately to confirm that it actually does follow a monthly pattern and my app was spot on this month. And it is synced up with my nesting partner so I knew it was that time without even asking her.

Do we bleed? No. But if you try to point out how “lucky” we are are some BS like that, I will slap you. Because that is a really sore point for someone like me who wants nothing more than to be pregnant. But I also know that it is unlikely to be possible while I am still young enough to do it because while uterine transplants are absolutely medically possible, they are only given to cisgender women.

The period is mostly caused by being on estrogen but I have always been sensitive to monthly cycles. Years ago before I had admitted to myself that I was trans, I noticed that my mood cycles were related to where my partner was on her period. But now that I am on estrogen it is a whole lot more emphasized.

And in case you think I’m making it up, you should read what other trans girls say.